Change of hardware causes registration dialog to appear
eazyBackup detects the current device based on a hardware ID.
The hardware ID may be changed in some situations:
- if you replace the motherboard or CPU; or
- if you upgrade the BIOS / UEFI, without preserving hardware IDs; or
- if you virtualise a physical server; or
- if you migrate a VM guest to a different VM host, without preserving hardware IDs; or
- if you install "sandboxing" software, or install certain PC security software that includes a "sandboxing" feature (e.g. Comodo Containment); or
- if you make certain specific modifications to the operating system.
In these situations, the device's hardware ID will change, and eazyBackup will recognize the PC as a new device.
Handling a changed device ID
If your device is recognized as a new device, you should register it again.
The original backup data is still preserved in the Storage Vault, and will be deduplicated against any future backups from this device.
Contact eazyBackup Support
eazyBackup support staff can move the Protected Item settings from one device to another. Please contact support to request this.
The old device must be revoked once the new device has been properly set up to prevent it from incurring additional charges, Please contact support to request this.
Alternatively, removing all Protected Item's from the old device will also prevent the device from being charged.
The backup job log history will be preserved, but, they will be associated with the old device.
- Once you de-register the original device, it would show as "Unknown device (XXXXX...)" in the job history.
- Customers can still see these old jobs in eazyBackup if they use the filter option > "All devices".